Apple’s “communication safety in Messages” feature, which automatically blurs photographs with nudity sent to youngsters via the company’s messaging service, is now available in more countries.
After debuting in the United States last year, the feature is now available in the Messages applications for iOS, iPadOS, and macOS for users in the United Kingdom, Canada, New Zealand, and Australia. The exact time is unknown; however, The Guardian claims that the function will be available in the UK “soon.”
Scanning occurs on-device and has no effect on the end-to-end encryption of communications. The feature, which is linked with Apple’s current Family Sharing system, can be enabled using the instructions described in the ‘About’ section of Apple’s “Communication Safety in Messages.”
To safeguard children, the opt-in function examines incoming and outgoing images for “sexually explicit” content. If the image is discovered, it is blurred, and instructions for obtaining assistance are supplied, along with assurances that it is OK not to view the image and to exit the chat. “You’re not alone, and you can always receive help from someone you trust or from skilled specialists,” the pop-up message says. In addition, the pop-up says, “You may also block this individual.”
Similarly to its original release in the United States, youngsters will be able to message an adult they trust about a flagged photo. In addition, Apple is increasing the implementation of a new feature for Spotlight, Siri, and Safari searches that will direct users to safety services if they search for themes related to child sexual abuse.